2020 Student Awards Highlights

Robert M. Ireland Undergraduate Research Award

Established in honor of Professor Emeritus Robert M. Ireland, who encouraged excellence and provided advice and support to generations of History majors, this award grants up to $1,000 to offset research expenses to undergraduate History majors or minors engaged in independent research inside or outside of the classroom, with preference to students with unmet financial need. Congratulations to the following awardees, pursuing the following projects in 2020–21:

  • Heidi Waterman: internships at the Kentucky Refugee Ministry, Showing Up for Racial Justice, and the Mary Todd Lincoln House.
  • Pedro Fonseca: independent research on Brazil.
  • Christopher Beebout: internship at the Kentucky Historical Society.
  • Samuel George Belza: internship at the Cooperative for the Humanities and Social Sciences.
  • William Gorringe: internship at the University Press of Kentucky.

This fund is accepting donations from alumni and friends who wish to honor Dr. Ireland’s distinguished career at UK.

Daniel B. Rowland Community Internship Award

During his long career in the History Department, Dr. Daniel B. Rowland was a strong advocate for community engagement and local historic preservation. The Rowland Award was created to support juniors or seniors enrolled in a History class who are pursuing summer internships in community service, historic education, or historic preservation. Congratulations to awardee Heidi Waterman who has internships at the Kentucky Refugee Ministry, Showing Up for Racial Justice, and and the Mary Todd Lincoln House.

This fund is accepting donations from alumni and friends who wish to honor Dr. Rowland’s distinguished career at UK.

The Holman Hamilton Scholarship in History

The endowed Holman Hamilton Scholarship in History was established to honor Professor Emeritus Holman Hamilton (1910-80). This award provides financial assistance towards tuition to an outstanding senior in their first semester. Nominations are submited by the faculty and awardees are selected in the fall. Eligible seniors must have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 in History courses. Congratulations to awardees Shania Goble and Presley Ramey.

The Kirwan-Elliott Award for Excellence in History

This award was made possible thanks to the generous support of Dr. Mark Elliott and Mrs. Darlene Elliott. Dr. Elliott attended the History Department's graduate program from 1969 to 1974, and he hopes the scholarship recipients will find the study of history as rewarding as he did. Congratulations to awardee Corinne Gressang.

Philo Bennett Prize

Founded in 1915, the Philo Bennett Prize is given to undergraduate with the best historical paper and comes with a modest cash prize. Each spring, a special departmental committee requests submissions. Congratulations to prize winner Cathryn Perini. Honorable mentions go to Alejandro Baker, Doug Center, Daniel R. Lewis, and Elizabeth A. Massie

Bryan Chair Fellowship

This is a once per semester award to a post-qualifying exam student working on their doctoral dissertation. The recipients are Cameron Boutin and Stefanie Greenhill.

To give to these funds or for further assistance, please contact Philanthropy Officer Debra Gold at 859-257-8124 or debra.gold@uky.edu. We are grateful for your support.