Featured Stories

Leadership in a Time of Crisis

Thursday, August 27, 2020 - 7:00pm
Online - Registration Required

What makes for effective leadership in a moment of crisis? Please join State Representative Charles Booker, president and founder of the new Kentucky-based organization, "Hood to the Holler,” and UK history professor Tracy Campbell, author of The Year of Peril: America in 1942, to discuss leadership during a crisis from both historical and contemporary perspectives. What challenges did leaders face dealing with the sudden onset of World War II, and what difficulties do they face now in dealing with the multi-layered racial, economic, and Covid crises? How can we overcome the divisions that crises create?

This talk, moderated by A&S Dean Mark Kornbluh and Cooperative Director Karen Petrone, is the inaugural event of the UK College of Arts and Sciences's new Cooperative for the Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS). This year our theme is “Crises and Creating Social Change.” CHSS facilitates interdisciplinary research and university engagement locally, nationally and internationally, to demonstrate the value and the contributions of the Humanities and Social Sciences in sustaining our communities and solving critical social problems.

Board of Trustees Names Two A&S Faculty Members to University Professorships

LEXINGTON, Ky. (June 19, 2020) — The University of Kentucky Board of Trustees today approved the University Research Professorships for the 2020-21 academic year. Among them are Amy Murrell Taylor in the Department of History; and Renée Fatemi in the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

Juneteenth Explained: ‘History Doesn’t Repeat Itself; People Do’

By Lindsey Piercy

A portrait of Vanessa Holden.LEXINGTON, Ky. (June 19, 2020) ⁠— It’s been said that history can help us understand the present and inform the future.

Three A&S Professors Receive Diversity, Inclusion Promotion Award

By Richard LeComte

Three University of Kentucky professors have received the College of Arts & Sciences Award for the Promotion of Diversity and Inclusion. The award recognizes a faculty member who has helped to develop a more diverse atmosphere in the College.